Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> Rule of the Week 5.1 - 803.12 Mandatories
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Mon May 04, 2009 1:33 pm    Post subject: Rule of the Week 5.1 - 803.12 Mandatories Reply with quote

Maybe this one will be controversal:

803.12 Mandatories

A. A mandatory restricts the path the disc may take to the target. A disc must pass to the correct side of the mandatory before the hole is completed. Once the disc has completely passed the mandatory line on the correct side (even if it subsequently re-crosses the line), the mandatory is to be ignored for the remainder of play on that hole.

(1) The mandatory line is the line marked by the director or course designer to indicate when a disc has passed or missed the mandatory.

(2) If no line is marked, the mandatory line is defined as a straight line through the mandatory, perpendicular to the line from the tee to the mandatory.

(3) In the case of a double mandatory when no line is marked, the mandatory line is the straight line connecting the two mandatories, and extends beyond them in both directions.

B. A throw is considered to have missed the mandatory if it passes the incorrect side of the mandatory line from the direction of the tee, and comes to rest lying completely beyond that line.

C. A disc that has missed the mandatory results in a one-throw penalty and the next throw shall be made from the drop zone, as designated for that mandatory. In cases where the drop zone is not designated, the lie is marked within five meters of the mandatory object and one meter behind the mandatory line which extends from the correct side of the mandatory.

D. When marking the lie, if the line of play does not pass to the correct side of the mandatory, then the mandatory itself shall be considered the hole for the application of all rules regarding stance, markers, obstacles, and relief. For the purposes of taking a legal stance, the mandatory object which has not yet been passed, and is nearest the tee, will be considered to be the hole.

E. A throw that misses a mandatory shall be penalized and the lie marked according to the mandatory rule (803.12). It will not be further penalized for any other reason, such as out-of-bounds or above two meters.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
LeppyR64
Disc Jockey


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 736
Location: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Wed May 06, 2009 10:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What's the reasoning behind rule 803.12(D)? I've known the rule and played by it, but never understood it.

For example a tree is deemed as mandatory that you go around it on the left. You hit the tree directly, it does not cross the plane on either side, and is very near the tree. Your next shot, even though you're still 120m from the hole, you can't follow through because you're within 10 m of the hole, therefore, it's technically a putt by 803.12(D).[/img]
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

LeppyR64 wrote:
What's the reasoning behind rule 803.12(D)? I've known the rule and played by it, but never understood it.

For example a tree is deemed as mandatory that you go around it on the left. You hit the tree directly, it does not cross the plane on either side, and is very near the tree. Your next shot, even though you're still 120m from the hole, you can't follow through because you're within 10 m of the hole, therefore, it's technically a putt by 803.12(D).[/img]


When the Line of Play (see glossary for definition) misses the mando, this rule applies. Simply being close to the mando (within 10m) is not enough to invoke 803.12(D).

Think JCP for a moment: If you gacked your drive but it landed between the mando trees, you could still take a full swing and 803.12(D) would not apply (the line of play does not miss either mando). If it rolled to the right of the right-most tree trunk, the line of play would then miss the mando, and you'd be restricted by 803.12(D).

The rule then implicitly reassigns the line of play to the mando by making it "the hole" for the applications of all those rules.

I'm not a fan of this rule, but what it appears to suggest is that where mandos exist, they need to be treated like the first of two targets (the second being the basket), and given the same respect as the actual basket. What I find conceptually difficult (and you have elluded to it), is why this should only be the case under these very specific circumstances.

It means a tree can be a tree if the disc lands in one spot, but move it over a foot or two, and a tree is now the basket, but one that you have to miss. Question

I just like to look at this rule, sigh in resignation, and thank those local course designers for having the tenacity to design DG runs that don't need mandos. I can think of only one Ottawa course I'll play this year that has a mando, and its there to protect people on a pathway (the only good reason for a mando, IMO).

Mandos are the bane of good course design. If you need to build a run with a mando for any reason other than personal safety, you need to think of another way to build it.


Last edited by burjwahzeh on Thu May 07, 2009 8:04 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:06 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

You want controversy? If you never mark your lie, the rule never applies. Leave your disc where it is, and you never mark a lie.

Go figure.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
LeppyR64
Disc Jockey


Joined: 15 Jul 2002
Posts: 736
Location: Arnprior, Ontario, Canada

PostPosted: Thu May 07, 2009 8:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the clarification.

As for your controversy:
Quote:
800. Marker: A term used to indicate either the mini marker disc or the thrown disc at rest, both of which can be used to indicate the lie from which a thrower's next shot shall be played.


Quote:

803.03(A). After each throw, the thrown disc must be left where it came to rest until the lie is established by the placing of a marker. This can be done by placing a mini marker disc on the playing surface between the hole and the disc, directly in line with the hole, on the line of play, touching the thrown disc. A player may instead choose, without touching or repositioning the thrown disc, to use the thrown disc as the marker. The marker may not be moved until the throw is released. A marker inadvertently moved prior to the throw shall be returned to its correct location.


Therefore if you never mark your lie, you can't pick up any disc that you throw. big grin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts