Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> 804.03 Interference - (2013) Goto page Previous  1, 2
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:


I also see BBPs point of disc in play should be left alone. I think the circumstances where this rule would be invoked are very rare in our area. Courses with sloped green with ponds at the bottom are where I could see this coming into play


And then, in those circumstances, you'd almost have to plan it out before and have someone stand at the pond's edge. Takes all the fear out of the throw.

If there's no head game; then where's the game?
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9814
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:38 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

VA Barrie:
Think of the advantage you have starting on hole 2 instead of hole 1 now with this new rule.

People can pick and chose who gets saved and who drowns -not equal for all
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:41 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rolly wrote:
VA Barrie:
Think of the advantage you have starting on hole 2 instead of hole 1 now with this new rule.


Totally.

Quote:

People can pick and chose who gets saved and who drowns -not equal for all


Stupid rule. :shakehead:
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9814
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

We should propose a ban on this rule for all events we can here in Ottawa. CC might have to keep it, but its total junk rules.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:46 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Rolly wrote:
We should propose a ban on this rule for all events we can here in Ottawa. CC might have to keep it, but its total junk rules.


CC keeps it and you can have players lined up along 10's fairway stopping discs from being "lost" in the woods. laughing
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9814
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
Rolly wrote:
We should propose a ban on this rule for all events we can here in Ottawa. CC might have to keep it, but its total junk rules.


CC keeps it and you can have players lined up along 10's fairway stopping discs from being "lost" in the woods. laughing


Exactly, any place is a potential to lose a disc,
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8270

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 8:51 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

#9 at Canadian comes to mind when you are putting at the pond, but yes it significantly change the head game of that putt if someone were playing goalie
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

The PDGA in its Great Wisdom wrote:
G. Altering the course of a thrown disc with the consent of the thrower in order to prevent the disc from becoming lost is not punishable interference. Any disc whose course is altered for that reason is considered to be a lost disc.

laughing laughing laughing laughing laughing
Just to be clear about this, though:
The disc is considered lost. That's a penalty of stoke and distance. It's a terrible penalty to take, and nobody in their right mind would risk it for something like #10 at Fortune. It means you're shooting three off the tee. Let the disc go OB, and you play by the (generally much more forgiving) OB rules. OB is a stroke; you get to keep (most of) the distance.

A disc that goes OB, even when not retrievable, is not lost. It is OB. This is where the pond thing doesn't sit well with me.

The complete ambiguity in this is: the rule says lost disc, and everyone is reading it as losing a disc.

A lost disc is a very specific thing. There is a section of the rules on lost discs. Throwing a disc that becomes lost is covered elsewhere.

Losing a disc is entirely different, because I can throw a disc into the middle of an OB lake or into someone's big back yard, and lose it. In both cases, it is a shot that went OB, and I treat the lie under the OB rules, not the lost disc rules.

Why is this significant?

Well, with the exception of throwing a disc off a cliff or into a black hole, how can anyone know that their disc will be a lost disc before it is even thrown!?!?!
_________________
Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown


Last edited by burjwahzeh on Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:00 am; edited 4 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Have you seen Shane throw?
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 9:54 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roxie wrote:
Have you seen Shane throw?

laughing
Lost disc before it even comes out of the bag.
_________________
Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3415
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

All good points: Back-tracking and clarifying, I would say the rule had good intentions, but opens more cans of worms than anything, and probably not good for competitive play.. Embarassed
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

OMR wrote:
...I would say the rule had good intentions, but opens more cans of worms than anything, and probably not good for competitive play.. Embarassed


I would totally agree. Seems like a rule made in the garage.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
OMR
ODGC Marketing


Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 3415
Location: Kanata

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:05 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
OMR wrote:
...I would say the rule had good intentions, but opens more cans of worms than anything, and probably not good for competitive play.. Embarassed


I would totally agree. Seems like a rule made in the garage.


or a barn... laughing
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8270

PostPosted: Thu Apr 25, 2013 10:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

burjwahzeh wrote:
Roxie wrote:
Have you seen Shane throw?

laughing
Lost disc before it even comes out of the bag.


$50 Million Cruise Missle with a $35 Guidance System

FU Roxie
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Fri Apr 26, 2013 10:47 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

This rule is for the bottom card, Group G, 7th round at Worlds (been there), so you can "legally" be a nice guy and not get penalized, and not add insult (lost disc) to injury (bottom card) for a guy who tried to lay-up but hit a root and is headed for the drink.

It has its place. Maybe not in the Professional rule book...
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9814
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Sat Apr 27, 2013 10:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ya, you should do this in casual rounds without asking to save discs
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
burjwahzeh
Overflow Overlord


Joined: 13 Dec 2005
Posts: 4460
Location: Somewhere where my mind is not.

PostPosted: Mon Apr 29, 2013 10:34 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Jefrey A. Brother wrote:
...It has its place. Maybe not in the Professional rule book...

The PDGA has got to grow up and stop trying to foster both professional and amateur aspects of the game. You can't do one and make the other happy. Will they ever learn?
_________________
Privacy is a means to democracy, not an end in itself. - unknown
Sabotage the system. Provoke more questions! - unknown
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Goto page Previous  1, 2
Page 2 of 2

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts