Ottawa Disc Golf Club

Reply to topic ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety -> Rule of the Week 3 - 803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:29 pm    Post subject: Rule of the Week 3 - 803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off Reply with quote

A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in 803.04 E); and,
(2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
(3) have all of his or her supporting points in-bounds.

B. Stepping past the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting within 10 meters.

C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.

D. A player must choose the stance that will result in the least movement of any part of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course.

E. If a large solid obstacle prevents a player from taking a legal stance within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc, the player shall take his or her stance immediately behind that obstacle on the line of play. The player must comply with all the provisions of 803.04 A other than being within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc.

F. A stance violation must be clearly called within three seconds after the infraction to be valid. The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a stance rule in the round. Subsequent violations of a stance rule in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty.

G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. Re-throws must be taken from the original lie, prior to subsequent play by others in the group.

H. The player may not retrieve the originally thrown disc prior to the re-throw, except in the case of a putt from within 10 meters. Where a disc is retrieved in violation of this rule, a one throw penalty shall be imposed without a warning.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

D. A player must choose the stance that will result in the least movement of any part of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course.



No backing into a bush to get your stance. No standing up in a tree to get your stance.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 3:41 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Tree putting is not my forte. But this is http://mykiaforte.ca/?gclid=CN6trt6ogJoCFQoMDQodYShJFg
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

They need an emoticon that shakes his head back and forth.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8270

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 5:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Could I get clarification of the rule when you are on the edge of OB, but not out? I believe you get 1 meter relief from the OB line. Is it ok if this moves you closer to the basket? Shire is a perfect example of where this happens alot. You come into #9, are left of the pin and on the edge of the garden, but not in the garden (OB). Can you then legally move your disc closer to the basket to get the 1 meter relief?

I know this is a little off the topic of the week, but I would like to know the rule.
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9815
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

90 degrees (perpendicular) from the ob line. it does not matter what its moving you closer to.
if your .63m from the ob line (inbounds) you can move it I know anywhere from .63-->1m from the ob line.

Can you move it closer to the ob line if your within 1m?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Rolly
King of Commentary


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 9815
Location: South East Division

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:03 pm    Post subject: Re: Rule of the Week 3 - 803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Reply with quote

BigBrotherPenton wrote:
A. When the disc is released, a player must:


Paging Ken Darcovich..... Ken Darcovich please come to the rules discussion.
big grin
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
BigBrotherPenton
King of Commentary


Joined: 24 Jun 2002
Posts: 10042
Location: watching the paint dry

PostPosted: Mon Apr 20, 2009 6:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thumber wrote:
Could I get clarification of the rule when you are on the edge of OB, but not out? I believe you get 1 meter relief from the OB line. Is it ok if this moves you closer to the basket? Shire is a perfect example of where this happens alot. You come into #9, are left of the pin and on the edge of the garden, but not in the garden (OB). Can you then legally move your disc closer to the basket to get the 1 meter relief?

I know this is a little off the topic of the week, but I would like to know the rule.


http://www.odgc.ca/forums/viewtopic.php?t=7287
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 8:03 am    Post subject: Re: Rule of the Week 3 - 803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Reply with quote

This topic came up last night at TOSS.

Quote:
A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in 803.04 E); and,
(2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
(3) have all of his or her supporting points in-bounds.

B. Stepping past the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting within 10 meters.

C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.
...


As you can see it says nothing about not being able to "step into" or "run-up" before you throw. It's all about foot placement, falling putts and demonstrating "full control of balance".

I've tried stepping into my throw. Didn't help.
_________________
Boyle says BOOM!
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roxie
Plaid Jacket Champion


Joined: 09 Nov 2005
Posts: 6929
Location: Dog River

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 8:07 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Gobbler.
_________________
If you can't win the event in regulation, try, try, try again.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8270

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 8:09 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Roxie wrote:
Gobbler.


That was a funny one last night....
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schnobble Gobbler
Mudslide Champion


Joined: 11 Oct 2005
Posts: 2527
Location: America F%$ Yah

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 9:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Truthfully, I was more worried about my foot that wasn't on the marker.
I was worried that it wasn't behind my marker foot so I spent allot of time looking at that foot and adjusting and I didn't realize my marker foot was in a foul situation...
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Thumber
LNF Champion


Joined: 08 Nov 2007
Posts: 8270

PostPosted: Wed May 05, 2010 9:52 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Schnobble Gobbler wrote:
Truthfully, I was more worried about my foot that wasn't on the marker.
I was worried that it wasn't behind my marker foot so I spent allot of time looking at that foot and adjusting and I didn't realize my marker foot was in a foul situation...


I had a foot foul last night as well...I was well in front of the line on a drive
_________________
meh
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Jefrey A. Brother
King Jefrey


Joined: 05 Feb 2010
Posts: 10042
Location: First tee

PostPosted: Fri Apr 27, 2012 10:02 am    Post subject: Re: Rule of the Week 3 - 803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Reply with quote

BigBrotherPenton wrote:


C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.


Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    ODGC Forums Forum Index -> Disc Golf Rules & Course Safety All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group
RSS Feed for Latest Posts